There is only one way to know for certain if you have learning disabilities - a formal evaluation known as a psychological assessment is the way that learning disabilities are diagnosed. These are done by a qualified member of a registered group such as the College of Psychologists who has been trained to identify learning disabilities. Such professionals may be clinical or educational psychologists, school psychologists, psychological associate, neuropsychologists or learning disabilities specialists.

Assessments can also provide a lot of useful information about your profile of abilities (your strengths as well as your weak areas) and about ways of helping (strategies and accommodations).

It is essential that the professional have training and direct experience working with and evaluating adults with learning disabilities. This person should also have up-to-date information about current LD research and have a working knowledge of local, provincial, and federal guidelines for providing help in different settings. This professional should be able to help you understand your needs relative to school, work, and daily living.

Find a Qualified Professional Here:

  • Ask your Guidance counselors in high schools
  • A Disability support services coordinator at your colleges or universities
  • A Learning Disabilities Association in your area or www.ldac-acta.ca
  • Community mental health agencies
  • Counseling or study skills center at a local college or university
  • Educational therapists or learning specialists (psychologists) in private practice
After you make contact with any of the above, ask to be referred to a professional who has experience working with adults with learning disabilities. When you meet him/her, you'll want to ask questions for reassurance that you are working with the right person.
FaLang translation system by Faboba

Il n’y a qu’une façon de savoir avec certitude si vous avez des troubles d’apprentissage – ces troubles sont diagnostiqués par un dépistage structuré appelé évaluation psychologique. Ces évaluations sont effectuées par des membres compétents d’un groupe reconnu comme l’Ordre des psychologues, formés pour reconnaître les troubles d’apprentissage. Il peut s’agir de psychologues cliniciens ou scolaires, d’associés en psychologie, de neuropsychologues ou de spécialistes des troubles d’apprentissage.

L’évaluation peut aussi fournir bien des renseignements utiles sur vos capacités (vos atouts et vos faiblesses) et sur les façons de vous aider (stratégies et accommodements).

Il est essentiel que le professionnel ait une formation et une expérience de travail directe dans l’évaluation des troubles d’apprentissage chez l’adulte. Cette personne doit aussi être au fait des recherches sur les TA et avoir une connaissance pratique des directives locales, provinciales et fédérales régissant l’aide à fournir dans différents contextes. Ce professionnel doit aussi pouvoir vous aider à comprendre vos besoins aux études, au travail et dans la vie quotidienne.

À qui s’adresser pour trouver un professionnel compétent :

  • Conseillers en orientation de votre école secondaire
  • Coordonnateur des services de soutien aux personnes handicapées dans votre collège ou université
  • Association des troubles d’apprentissage de votre région ou www.ldac-acta.ca
  • Organismes communautaires de santé mentale
  • Centre d’orientation ou de techniques d’études d’un collège ou d’une université
  • Thérapeutes en apprentissage ou spécialistes de l’apprentissage (psychologues) en pratique privée

Après avoir pris contact avec une de ces personnes, demandez-lui de vous adresser à un professionnel qui a l’expérience du travail avec des adultes ayant des troubles d’apprentissage. Lorsque vous rencontrerez ce professionnel, vous voudrez lui poser des questions pour vous assurer que vous travaillez avec la bonne personne.

FaLang translation system by Faboba